RSS Feed

What are You trying to say, God?

Last night my professional organizer, Cheryl Osterhouse (of In Order For Life, LLC) spoke at the Women’s Ministry Event at my church.  She spoke about being good stewards of our time and mentioned Elisabeth Elliot and her writings and one of the things she took away from her writings.  It was to “do the next thing”.  When you are overwhelmed with life, do the next thing. 

This morning I was on my way to an appointment, in the car by myself, able to listen to whatever I want and decided to listen to a cd on creating schedules.  The speaker mentioned treating time like money and she challenged listeners to consider thinking of how a schedule for your time is like a budget for your money.  She then goes on to mention Elisabeth Elliot and “do the next thing”.  Wow – so, I am hearing the same message 2 times in less than 24 hours ~ I think I better pay attention!  I think God is trying to tell me something.

Then I heard a question in my head, “are you using your time for God worthy things?”  Is spending 10, 15, 20+ minutes on Facebook reading about everyone else’s lives and opinions a God worthy use of my time – the time God has entrusted me with?  Do I spend that much time sitting and talking to my own children and husband, hearing about their day and their thoughts?  OUCH!  That really hit me.  I need to start really thinking of my time as a gift from God and really think and pray over how I can be a better steward of that blessing of time. 

I pray that God will guide my thoughts and actions as I go through this process.

About strivingtolivesimply

I am a Christian wife, Mama, sister, aunt, niece and friend. I want to be a better follower of Christ and strive to live a simple life. This blog is my journey in that direction.

One response »

  1. Great post, Laura! Yes, it’s a life long challenge. It sounds so simple, “just do the next thing”. One day at a time, one hour at a time, one decision at a time. God bless you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

